Originally posted to Goodreads May 19,2014
Blurb: Samuel Buckland is a young man who has it all and is planning for the future. Gregory Caitlin is a businessman and politician. He has designs to bring hope back to a world in need…and he’ll be damned if anyone gets in his way!

When the two cross paths, even the angels tremble.

An ancient magic has been rediscovered. Sam must overcome his lack of faith and accept his destiny, or the world he knows will suffer the consequences.
.
A skeptic who must harness the powers of demons and genies. A zealot who has begun to walk a darker path. Bound together by a stolen secret.

Can any of them escape the Chains of Prophecy?

The first novel in the Samuel Buckland Chronicles, Chains of Prophecy is a fast-moving, compelling story that explores the grey line between good and evil, right and wrong. Fantastic creatures combine with all-too-human failings to produce a story that is both spellbinding and relatable. Fans of Supernatural or Constantine will especially enjoy this book!

RATED 5/5 Stars
Genre: Fantasy, Biblical Tone
This book can be compared to a bomb.
Slow short fuse and when it blows, it lasts for a very long time.

The truth is, I went to this book with low expectations. From the blurb I automatically labeled it as “not my kind of kind of book”. From the prologue I felt as though I was right in thinking that. Which felt very out of touch, just sort of slapped on, as an attempt to hook the reader for what was sure to be a long, boring, uneventful story.
And then the story really began…

It’s good, it’s really good. Not great, but damn close to it. The writing is the kind that you’ll sit yourself down and say “I’ll read for a couple minutes.” Next thing you know, an hour’s passed. It’s immersive, engaging, and original. This is the type of material that could easily bend into preachy, overly devout batshit religious overtones, but Jason Patrick Crawford does well to hold back on it. As with any book/story that uses religion as a basis for the going ons of the story, it has its messages, and the tone is there, but he doesn’t dive too deep that it drags down the fun of the story.
Instead he goes on to give a different view on it, while giving the story what it needs. And by that I mean the surprising graphic detail. It remains fun and engaging, characters are actually real people, with real reactions. Sometimes, but that’s where we’re allowed our disbelief. No spoilers, but there is an angel I’ve been wanting to incorporate into my work, and Jason blows mine out the water that there’s no way I can match it. It all very wonderfully done.